Skip to content

Driver of the Year

Honoring the Industry's Safest Professional Drivers

Nominations Open for the Driver of the Year Award


The Ohio Trucking Association (OTA) is proud to honor the industry’s safest commercial drivers through its Driver of the Year award. This award recognizes truck driving professionals who are reliable, safe and dedicated to the industry.

The following aspects of the driver's career are examined during the selection process: total miles driven; equipment driven; years with present employer and total years driving; details of preventable and non-preventable accidents; and participation in industry activities and community service. All nominations will be evaluated by a panel of judges and twelve finalists will be selected. The 2021 Driver of the Year will be announced on Friday, April 8 at the Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center in Lewis Center.

The deadline to submit nominations is Friday, Feb. 4, 2022. Driver of the Year nominees must be employed by or leased to an Ohio Trucking Association member company. Please CLICK HERE to nominate your driver online or CLICK HERE to download the application.  Please contact Bradie Berry if you have any questions at or (614) 519-6462.

About the Driver of the Year Banquet

Each year, the Ohio Trucking Association looks to its members to nominate amazing drivers to be in the running for Driver of the Year. These drivers possess an excellent driving record, dedication to the profession and a passion to improve the roads through a safety first mentality. The winning driver will be announced during the awards banquet held at the Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center inside the NorthPointe Ballroom.

Banquet registration deadline is Friday, March 25, 2022.

Event Date:
Friday, April 8, 2022

Schedule of Events:
5:30pm – Cocktail Reception
6:15pm – Dinner
7:15pm – Awards Ceremony

Event Location:
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center
NorthPointe Ballroom (located inside the Virginia Building)
100 Green Meadows Drive South
Lewis Center, OH 43035

Hotel Accommodations:
A room block has been negotiated at the Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center. Room rate is $129 per night. Please call reservations directly at (614) 880-4300 and reference the "Ohio Trucking Association" or book online here. Reservation deadline for the group rate is Friday, March 25, 2021.

Congratulations to 2020 Driver of the Year, Nicholas Delzeith

On April 2, 2021, the Ohio Trucking Association named Nicholas Delzeith of Clopay Transportation Company the 2020 Driver of the Year at the annual Driver of the Year Banquet, presented by Great West Casualty Company.

Delzeith has been a professional driver for 38 years and has driven over 3.8 million safe miles. He has been a recipient of the Clopay Safe Driving Award for over 20 years, won the Wayne McGreevey Driver of the Year Award in 2014 and is a 6-time OTA Driver of the Year Finalist. Nick also serves on the Clopay Transportation Continuous Improvement Committee and is a Driver Trainer.

Thank You to our Presenting Sponsor:

2020 Event Photos and Recap Video:

Scroll To Top