Rugby League

Master Rugby League

If you’re 35 or over, Masters is the game for you!

What is Masters Rugby League?

Masters Rugby League is strictly a social version of the sport for players aged 35+ for Men’s Masters and 30+ for Women’s Masters. The aim is for enjoyment, fitness benefits and social aspects whilst players engage in a version of Rugby League modified for ‘the older player.’ 

The most important rule is "everyone has to buy a drink for their opposite number!”

The Spirit of Masters:

  • Masters is non-competitive
  • Masters does not welcome nor allow rough or over vigorous play
  • Masters is about enjoyment and having a good time – on and off the pitch!
  • There are no winners; no champions; no leagues; no cup finals
  • All games end in a 0-0 draw

How to Play Masters Rugby League?

The rules are slightly modified to cater for older players, where safety is paramount.

Games are 13 players a side, with up to 7 substitutes. Each player wears one of six different coloured shorts, depending on their age, which relates to different levels of contact. There is a mix of tackles from full-contact, limited contact, and non-contact. There are no conversions and no turnovers. The sixth tackle results in a scrum to the defending side.

Each game lasts 50 minutes (25 x 2 halves) on a 100m x 60/68m pitch, which can all be modified at festivals.

Teams are separated into men’s and women’s formats.

Please see the full rule document at the bottom of this page for further details.

Masters Clubs

  • Aldershot and Fleet
  • Arlecdon Rams
  • Ashton Bears
  • Barrow
  • Batley Boys
  • Birkenshaw
  • Blackpool
  • Blackpool Belles
  • Bolton RLFC
  • Boothtown Terriers
  • Bradford Dudley Hill
  • Brixton Bulls
  • Brothers In Touch
  • Bury Broncos
  • Cadishead Rhinos
  • Cardiff Blue Dragons
  • Carlisle
  • Castleford
  • Catterick Crusaders
  • Chester Gladiators
  • Clock Face Miners
  • Crosfields
  • Dewsbury Celtic
  • Dodworth Miners
  • Doncaster Toll Bar
  • East Leeds
  • Eastmoor
  • Elland
  • Folly Lane
  • GB Police
  • Golborne Parkside
  • Guiseley Rangers
  • Haresfinch
  • Heworth Ladies
  • Heworth
  • Heysham Atoms
  • Hindpool Tigers
  • Huddersfield
  • Hull
  • Hull Warriors
  • Ince Rose Bridge
  • Keighley Albion
  • Kippax
  • Leeds
  • Leeds Old Dogs
  • Leigh East
  • Leigh Miners Ladies
  • Leigh Miners Rangers Men
  • Leyland Warriors
  • Maryport
  • Medway Dragons
  • Morley Knights
  • Normanton Knights
  • North East Thunder
  • North Wales Buccaneers
  • Ossett 
  • Queensbury
  • Rebel Masters
  • Rochdale
  • Rylands
  • Siddal
  • Southampton Spitfires
  • Southlands 
  • St Albans Centurions
  • Stanley Rangers
  • Swindon St Georges
  • Telford
  • Thornhill Trojans
  • Underbank Rangers
  • Upton
  • West Bowling
  • West Cumbria
  • West Hull
  • Westhoughton Lions
  • Wigan Spring View
  • Wigan St Judes
  • Wigan St Patricks
  • York

Masters Rugby League Management Group